Give us a call on +65-6636 6878

WPML not installed and activated.

AST CARES Awards 2012

Award Winners

Dr Beatrice Lim


Member of a Clinical Practice Improvement Programme(CPIP) to reduce the incidence of underfeeding in intubated neurocritical carepatients in Tan Tock Seng Hospital. This was awarded with a merit award in the MOH Healthcare Quality Improvement Poster Competition 2011.

Participated in research with poster and oral presentation in both local and overseas conferences. Awarded the Best Trauma Free Paper Prize in the Singapore Trauma Conference 2012 with the project investigating the use of activated recombinant factor VIIa in patients receiving massive transfusion.

Actively involved in educational activities for residency teaching as well as a medical student mentor embarking on a clinical research project.

Speaker at the Neuroanaesthesia Course 2012 as well as the recent Neuroanaesthesia Special Interest Group Meeting in August 2012.

Member of the organising committee for the “Airway Emergencies: Simulation and Cognitive Skills Course” Oct 2012, co-hosted by the Anaesthesia and ENT department.

Dr Loh May-Han


Dr Loh May-Han is a model example of what an advanced specialist trainee should be, demonstrating clinical excellence and maturity well beyond her grade, particularly in her subspecialty field of interest, obstetric anaesthesia.

She is passionate about medical education, playing a key role in developing the Phase IV curriculum of the Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, and is actively involved in assessing, mentoring, and lecturing of medical students, residents and BSTs.

As a well regarded member in the department of Anaesthesia in NUHS, she contributes with her administrative expertise by initiating the development of departmental guidelines, management plans and workflows.

Recognising the importance of research in our times, she participates as co-investigator in on-going studies, projects and audits.

Serving on the executive committee of the SSA and as Assistant Honorary Treasurer in 2011-2012, she achieved with the rest of the committee a successful membership drive and update of the existing members, continuously engaging members via her brainchild- the newly set up social media platform, revamping the society’s official website and helping with the planning of our local annual conference / refresher course.

Dr Teoh Pei Fen

Dr Teoh Pei Fen is currently an associate consultant with the Department of Anaesthesiology, Khoo Teck Puat Hospital and co-leads the day surgery centre.

She is a recipient of the Singapore Health Services Medical Officer Award 2006-2007 and the Best Medical Officer/Trainee Award at the Singapore-Duke Anaesthesia and Critical Care Update 2008.

In 2009-2010 she also received the SingHealth Talent Development Award whereby she spent one year doing basic science benchwork research on the effect of adrenergic and cholinergic pathway modulation on pulmonary vasoreactivity in septic rats, conducted in the Department of Anaesthesiology and Surgical Intensive Care at the Universitätsklinikum Münster Germany.

She is a clinical tutor with the National University of Singapore and participates actively in the teaching of juniors.

© Copyright 2012. All Rights Reserved. Singapore Society of Anaesthesiologists.